Skip to main content

Overwrite Files in an Archive

The Add all files add mode setting can cause older versions of files to replace newer versions already in the archive. The Overwrite setting enables you to control whether existing files are overwritten.

To tell PK Protect what to do when a file to be added has the same name as a file already in the archive:

  1. Select Options from the Application Menu.
  2. Select the Compression category. The Compression Settings page appears.
  3. Select one of the following settings from the Overwrite drop-down menu:

Setting

Resulting Behavior

Prompt user

PK Protect prompts you for permission to overwrite each existing file that is set to be overwritten.

Never (skip)

PK Protect never overwrites existing files in the archive. Selected files in the list of files to be added are skipped and are not added if they would overwrite any file.

Always

Existing files are always overwritten by same-named files selected to be added.


Note: The other add mode settings—Update existing and add new files and Freshen existing files only—cause (only) older versions of files to be overwritten by newer ones, without prompting.
JavaScript errors detected

Please note, these errors can depend on your browser setup.

If this problem persists, please contact our support.