Add Comments to Files

Text comments are useful for recording notes about the files in an archive. You can attach different comments to different files, or select several files and attach the same comment to all of them. You can also save comments to text files and load previously saved comments to use again.

Comments can be attached to folders, too, but only to real folders, not to virtual ones. Real folders appear brighter in the Explorer view:

(See the note here for more differences between real and virtual folders.)

With a ZIP archive, you can also attach a comment to the archive itself, not just to its files.

To attach a comment to one or more files in an archive:

1.  Select some files in the archive.

2.  Right-click the selected file(s) and choose Properties to open the File Properties dialog.

3.  Select the Comment tab.

  • 4.  If just one selected file has a comment, it is displayed in the comment field.

  • If multiple files with different comments are selected, the field displays an advisory message, explaining that a new comment will replace the existing comment for all selected files.

5.  The text Multiple files appears by the file-type icon in the dialog if you selected multiple files.

6.  Do one of the following:

  • Enter the text you want to attach to the selected file or files as a comment.

  • Drag and drop a text file onto the comment field.

  • Choose the Load button to browse for a previously saved comment to use.

Choose Apply or OK.

Managing Comments

The four buttons at the bottom of the tab control loading and saving text from comment files and enable you to clear and reset the comment field.

Button

What It Does

Load

Enables you to browse for a text file that contains the comment you want to use; loads the text from the selected file in the comment field

Save As

Displays a Save As dialog in which you can save your comment to a text file to use again

Clear

Erases any text in the comment field

Reset

Restores to the comment field the same text or message, if any, that was displayed before you made changes